Anna Lavelle Back

Chair of the Medicines Australia Board, VIC

Dr Anna Lavelle was appointed as Chair of the Medicines Australia Board in August 2018 and was recently reappointed as Chair for a three-year period. Prior to this, Dr Lavelle served as Deputy Chair and Independent Director of Medicines Australia from January 2017 to July 2018.

Dr Lavelle is an experienced Non-Executive Director serving for nearly 30 years on the boards of not for profit, government and for-profit entities. As Executive Director or Non-Executive Director, she has a long track record in healthcare delivery, technology development and negotiating government policy.

From 2005 to 2016, Dr Lavelle was the CEO of AusBiotech; the national industry association for the biotechnology, pharmaceutical and medical devices sectors. Dr Lavelle serves on several boards including, Chair Avatar Brokers, Non-Executive Director Hemideina Pty Ltd, Non-Executive Director Cyban Pty Ltd, Member Health Innovation Advisory Committee (National Health & Medical Research Council), Independent Director SoilCRC and Advisory Board member OUTBREAK initiative.

Dr Lavelle is an ATSE Fellow, has a PhD in Genetics and is an AICD Graduate.